Thursday, April 21, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 42- END!
Raw rev for and at work which led to trader joe's pom juice for dinner. I cut up avocado and cuke for dinner.
Went and saw ave Q and it was AMAZEBALLS!
Evening snack was pecans and strawberries.
Meme:
day 21 - a song that you listen to when you’re happy
I heavily favor contemporary trashy dance music for my happy times, but I spent so many nights getting ready to go out to the sounds of this song that I can't deny its awesomeness.
----
thurs, 43
Breakfast was chia goodness with fresh strawberries, almond milk before heading to the barn. Unfortunately, I totally hit the ground off old Nissa, but I am fine and got back on.
When I got home from the barn, Let Me Crazy was at my house. Post-ride protein shake was more strawberries, almond milk and blueberries with sunwarrior. I ran out to teach, then came back and sliced up a cantaloupe then went to play at the nightlight.
There will be video of this show on Youtube later.
The Crazies and I went to cosmic so they could grab some late night dinner, and I noshed strawberries as we talked into the night.
day 22 - a song that you listen to when you’re sad
in general, this band is inextricably linked in my mind with the general suicidal malaise of my 14 year old self. However, an actual dronecore song about failing to kill yourself is pretty much the icing on the cake for me.
---
Fri 44
I popped a raw rev for breakfast, then went to the gym. When I got back, I cut up a cantaloupe. For dinner, I spun up a walnut sun dried tomato pate and ate it with carrots. Then we went to Greensboro and rocked the shit out of Panda Pile.
day 23 - a song that you want to play at your wedding
My imaginary nonexistent wedding would need to feature this song:
-----
sat, Dat 45
Lunch was a whole foods spinach and avocado salad. I noshed it through the whole day. I also got my veganessentials order in, so I ate some strawberries with raw nutella, which lacks the spreadability of regular nutella, but is still delicious.
Dinner was kombucha.
When I got off work at 12:30, I walked to McCabes and had a shot of Makers and a PBR. Yeah, started out classy like that.
Raw over.
day 24 - a song that you want to play at your funeral
This is hopeful.
--
Easter Sunday:
I ate raw strawberries at work and geared up for my first meal!
Yamazushi in Durham
Ordered a Seaweed Salad, Miso Soup, Hijiki Rice and Shitake Mushrooms.
This was way too much food but was incredibly tasty. I look forward to frequenting yamazushi.
day 25 - a song that makes you laugh
Maybe it's because I just saw it, but this popped into my head immediately.
Monday, April 18, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 40-41
day 19 - a song from your favorite album
day 20 - a song that you listen to when you’re angry
Raw for Lent: Day 38-39
day 17 - a song that you hear often on the radio
day 18 - a song that you wish you heard on the radio
Friday, April 15, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 37
When I got home, I had like 3 minutes to shower and get prepped for the raw food potluck in carrboro. So I showered, then sliced up more carrots and celery to go with the pate.
At the potluck, there was all kinds of good stuff. One of the guys makes sauer kraut, which was crazy delicious (so much better than out of a jar). One couple brought a spinach, mushroom, onion and seed salad and another pair brought an avocado, cherry tomato and onion salad, which worked really well as a dressing for the spinach salad. Everyone was really nice and we all hung out. They had an aerial silk thing, but my legs were so shot from all the activity that I declined to try. Also, not graceful, at all.
So now I'm home, sorting through old clothes and planning lessons for tomorrow morning. This weekend is gonna be ROUGH but it's the last one before Easter, woot woot!
<3
Crap, skipped a day on the meme.
day 14 - a song that no one would expect you to love
Raw for Lent: Day 35-36
day 16 - a song that you used to love but now hate
Wednesday, April 13, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 34
day 13 - a song that is a guilty pleasure
Monday, April 11, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 32-33
So today was the first day that the restaurant I work at ran brunch. You all know that I am a huge fan of LUNCH and its foods; sandwiches, soups, bento boxes. I don't much care for brunch. I'm just tossing that out there. I packed a banana, a mango/coconut juice and half a honeydew (and I already had a 1/2 jar of kimchi I'd left from the night before) to cover the long shift; almost a 9-5!
When I got off work, I came home, then set some nuts to soak to try some new recipes. I ran out to teach a lesson while things were soaking, then went to borrow my friend Sarah's laptop, hit whole foods for missing ingredients and some foodstuffs for the week.
At home, I spun up two recipes from Eating Raw for Dummies. I did their butternut squash nacho sauce, which tastes a lot like spicy, noochy red pepper hummus. It's definitely tasty.
However, the walnut sun dried tomato pate is WHERE IT'S AT.
1.5 C Walnuts, soaked at least 3 hours
6 T sun dried tomatoes, soaked at least 1 hour
(reserve the sun dried tomato soak juice, you will need about 1/2 cup of it )
1/4 c basil
1 clove garlic
1 T oil
1 T Nama Shoyu
2 T lemon juice
Toss everything in the blender
I ate these dips with cauliflower and a red pepper. Found myself downing the pate much quicker.
I then stayed up very late, laying out the new Pink Flag EP coming out on June 18!!!
Meme:
day 11 - a song from your favorite band
Monday, Day 33
This morning, got up and finished the designing then went and got a wax for the first time in like 3 months.
Princess got back from her comps and I let her try the dips with some flax crackers, and she agreed they were both good but the walnut was the winner. I fixed some cabbage to eat with the dips, then set about cleaning up some.
I spent most of the day trying to get the house in order for a prospective roommate who didn't call/didn't show so she's out of the game. In the afternoon, I finally worked up the guts to try perfect food. It is really not as bad as everyone said it was. I mean, it is ROUGH by itself mixed with water, but so is protein powder. The worst part is the smell; it smells just like fish food, but doesn't really taste like anything to me...then has kind of an icky aftertaste. After choking half a glass down, I just tossed the rest into a smoothie with a cup of blueberries, a cup of strawberries, 1/4 c of macadamias and what was probably a 1/4 scoop superfood.
Later I had some raspberries, two kiwis and a couple of pickles. I wish today hadn't been eaten by so many "managerial" activities. It turned out to be really nice and I would've liked to have gone to the barn. So now, I squeezed some lemon and agave into some water and am having a lemonade as an evening snack. :)
day 12 - a song from a band you hate
Hate is a strong word for bands. But if I have to choose a band I hate, it's probably this one.
Saturday, April 9, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 30-31
day 09 - a song that you can dance to
day 10 - a song that makes you fall asleep
Friday, April 8, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 28-29
When I came home, I pounded the kale salad and am now soaking some cashews to make pear cashew cream for tomorrow. Anyway, I had some coconut water and am going to bed.
day 08 - a song that you know all the words to
Wednesday, April 6, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 27
day 06 - a song that reminds you of somewhere
Sunday, April 3, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 25-26
Breakfast was half a canteloupe at work. Work was rough, the backwait didn't show so we started out slow but then got busier and it was less than fun.
I taught in the afternoon, then had to run by my studio to pick up a check, then went by Whole Foods to do my shop for the week. I bought a little less than I have in the past to avoid it going bad, but also, bought something that I could tear into in the car like mongo because I was HUNGRY. I settled on "Just Apples" the dehydrated apple sticks that I liked as a middle schooler.
Dinner, I came home and had raw sushi (cuke, avo, cauli, nori and nama shoyu). Then I remembered that I still had that ice cream, which I wasn't stoked to eat, but I cut up some fresh strawberries into it, let it melt a little, and that was tasty.
For the meme;
day 04 - a song that makes you sad
Easy peasy. The first time I heard this song I wanted to cry. Then I went to college and I really started to understand it.
This morning I spun some strawberries into some almond milk and mixed it with some Chia Goodness before heading to the barn to play with my Nissa kissa. She was in a kind of odd mood but I attribute it to the sudden warmth and massive windiness today (a standard got blown over while I was in the ring!). I've put up a picture of her here. She's not the most beautiful horse alive, but think of her kind of like a diesel Mercedes from the 80s. Old, yeah, maybe a little fussy at times, but a classic great ride.
I came home, showered, and spun a quickie shake:
1 scoop protein powder
1 tsp spirulina
1 c chia
1 cup frozen mixed berries
1 banana
1/2 c almond milk
2 leaves of kale
It was good, definitely drinkable and felt very healthy. I headed out to the store to try and find a bathing suit (I swear, I can't hang onto any of my one piece or tanktop suits to save my life) that covers my stomach (for some reason, all of the now UTTERLY inappropriate bikinis I own are easily located. I stopped in to Old Navy, which is full of the ugliest suits ever, then went over to Nordstrom Rack (I have almost dropped a dress size, but definitely have in at least Ralph Lauren and Calvin Klen. And before you judge...I just like to try on nice clothes!) then a quick browsing trip at Crate and Barrel (OMG the new store at southpoint is so NICE) then to target, where I had a contender (a converse one star suit) but it was sort of funny...really baggy around the middle, almost maternity-like.
When I came home, I busted out this amazing Kale Salad recipe, with a couple of changes:
1 bunch kale
1 tsp cayenne pepper
2 T nama shoyu
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 T sesame seeds (Holy shit, these are expensive!)
1 cup cherry tomatoes
1 carrot, grated
I would also bet that ginger is a good addition to this salad.
I also spun together 4 pink lady apples and a little agave and water to make apple sauce which I have been craving for days. I am still working on the apple sauce, but am definitely done eating for the day.
day 05 - a song that reminds you of someone
Raw for Lent: Day 25
At lunch, I ran over to Whole Foods and grabbed a thing of guac and a bundle of celery, then washed the celery in the bathroom of my music studio and cut it with a plastic knife. HARDCORE, yo!
Dinner was a red pepper and an apple Pure bar-- definitely my favorite. Weird, since I generally don't like apple cinnamon stuff. At work, even though I was supposed to be last out, a girl traded with me, so I got to come home early and eat some kimchi while I started reading my GRE prep book. More info on that forthcoming, but right now...ah, I don't even wanna think about it.
The Meme:
day 03 - a song that makes you happy
Oh this is easy. It's the happiest song in the world!
(Please ignore random swedish people in the video)
Friday, April 1, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 24
I made a shake for work:
1 scoop Sunwarrior
1 tsp spirulina
1 c almond milk
1 c frozen mixed berries
1 pear
1 c chia
1 yellow mango
Then went to work. I got stuck at work pretty late and ended up missing most of the Hammer No More the Fingers CD release party for Black Shark. You should check it out, though, because it's a good record. I listened to like 3 tracks on the way home and have heard tons more at shows all the time :)
I had half canteloupe and a few nuts for post work/hammer show snack and am now just enjoying that I'm not on my feet anymore.
Oh, and continuing my meme:
Day 02 - your least favorite song
This is an easy pick. Not because I love so many songs (which I do) or because I hate so many (also true) but because this song comes with a story. A story that ended in disciplinary action. This song is sincerely torture. It is my Clockwork Orange style rehab thing. And when I was at summercamp, someone chose it as the song my bunk would do a dance to. I may or may not have damaged the La Bouche single. I plead the fifth.
Thursday, March 31, 2011
Raw for Lent: Day 23
7-8 Carrots, peeled and cut into 2 inch pieces
1 c h20
1/2 c macadamia nuts
1/2 avocado
2 T ginger
2 tsp nama shoyu
1 T lemon juice
1/2 tsp curry powder
1 tsp dill
1 tsp garlic
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp salt
few grinds of black pepper
I spun the big stuff (nuts, carrots, water) first to grind them down, then added the rest as it went on.
The soup is a sort of curry color, bright yellow and not the greatest consistency, but it's fairly tasty. It's best right out of the vitamix when it's just a little hotter than room temperature. I garnished with a little olive oil, which also helped the flavor I think. I might have added a little too much dill and a little too much garlic but I still feel like the soup is missing something.
On another note, my amazingly talented friend Rusty Sutton is the 30 day song challenge and I'm a big fat copycat, so I'm going to follow along his footsteps.
Day 1: My Favorite Song
I struggled a lot with what I would really consider my favorite song. Owing to overall plays, though, the convergence of several things I enjoy (dance grooves, noise rock, post-punk and ambient noise) and the fact that it is associated, forever, in my mind with going for long walks, I hereby nominate Ghinzu - Blow.
Wednesday, October 22, 2008
Survey, Because I have THE PLAGUE
What was the most recent tea you drank?
Today I drank Earl Gray, because there was no more mint.
What vegan forms do you post/lurk on? If so, what is your username? Spill!
Happy cow as bullcityveg. PPK without a username.
You have to have tofu for dinner, and it has be an Italian dish. What comes to mind first?
Lasagna. Or stuffed shells. Just anything involving the awesome awesome tofu Ricotta recipe I have.
How many vegan blogs do you read on an average day?
When I get into Google Reader, about 25 or 30.
Besides your own, what is the most recent one you’ve read?
Besides Fearlessly Vegan, I think the last full entry I saw was chickpea soup on Centrepullball that looked amazing.
If you could hang out with a vegan blogger that you haven’t met, who would it be, and what would you do?
I have to go with Lindyloo from Yeah, That "Vegan" Shit because she seems to have a real pottymouth and affinity for hipster kitsch, like me, so I think we'd design a theme meal. I'd also be happy to hang out with Hannah from Bittersweet and be her official taste tester for the next few months =).
If you had to base your dinners for a week around one of the holy trilogy – tofu, seitan or tempeh, which would it be?
Tofu. I'm a tofu whore.
If you had to use one in a fight, which would it be?
Seitan. Its rubbery awesomeness would work well to smack the crap outta someone =)
Name 3 meals you’d realistically make with that tough protein of choice!
-Every year for thanksgiving I HAND MAKE the candle cafe Seitan, then marinate it in a mustardy sauce, pan sear it and serve it with mashed potatoes and wild mushroom gravy.
-Seitan strips make excellent fajitas when soaked in "chicken" broth, sauteed with mushrooms, onions green and red peppers, then served up with some vegetarian refried black beans, some guacamole, seasoned rice, salsa and sour cream. Can you say yummers?
-My first foray into seitan was making Carribbean Rice Pilau. It's awesome and the only tricky part is getting your browning just right. Even store-bought yucky seitan eventually absorbs the sweetly savory flavor of browning and onions and bloats and it's just wonderful.
What’s a recipe in vegan blogland that you’ve been eyeing?
I really really want to try and make Jennifer Schmoo's twinkies. But I am SOOOOO lazy.
Do you own any clothing with vegan messages/brands on them?
I've got a "Vegetarianism is for Lovers" baseball tee, a "Give blood and save a life, then go vegetarian and save 85" that is so old/loved that it is threadbare and has cigarette burns in it and a Smiths "Meat is Murder" tee. That counts, right? =)
Have you made your pilgrimage to the 'vegan mecca' yet? (Portland, duh)
I am afraid of flying, but eventually I will get there, because it is also a girl rock mecca.
What age did you first go vegan? Did it stick?
I went vegan at about 13 or 14. I don't remember exactly when it was that I finally quit eating fish and started checking labels vigilantly for dairy. It was right before HS. It stuck. I've only fallen off a few times since then, mainly without knowing (casein, unknown fish sauces in asian foodstuffs) and sometimes on purpose (I can't help it I fucking love pop tarts).
What is the worst vegan meal you’ve had? Who cooked it?
I think the unequivocally worst vegan meal I've ever had was at this place in North Miami that my brother took me to that called itself a "Healthy Eatery" and I vaguely recall that it was named something like Sunshine, or Sun something. The restaurant was full of senior citizens, the food was all labeled as "healthy meat," vegetarian or vegan, then with different dietary ideas too (heart healthy, low sodium, atkins etc) PLUS the restaurant smelled like a pet store that desperately needed to be cleaned. I think I ordered rice and beans, thinking they couldn't possibly screw it up, but it was bland, flavorless and undercooked. I barely touched my food. The irony? My brother who gave me so much shit for being vegan is now vegan too. And beyond that-- he is practically raw.
What made you decide to blog?
Vegan mofo was my inspiration.
What are three of your favorite meals to make?
Soup. It changes with the season, but I love making soup.
Sandwiches. I know that's kind of a ghetto meal but I like to cook fast.
Thanksgiving. (does that count?). It's like, a four day affair, but I have several items that are always on the menu, like my seitan steaks, my gravy, my lasagna, lemon cheesecake, I always add a new type of cupcake...
What dish would you bring to a vegan Thanksgiving-themed potluck?
See above. I host one every year!
Where is your favorite vegan meal at a restaurant? How many times have you ordered it?
That's tough. I *really* like doing the half soup/half sandwich at Angelica Kitchen in NY. I almost always get the Marinated tofu. I've probably eaten that or the Hot Open Face tempeh about 40 times (I was a *big* fan.) HOWEVER the Alfredo Special at Caravan of Dreams has a special place in my heart. And the "latin" specials at Candle Cafe got eaten a lot. OOF and Zen Palate's Celestial Tofu.
What do you think the best chain to dine as a vegan is?
There are always lots of local chains that are handy dandy. In NY, Zen Palate and Ayhan's were pretty good/safe. Down here, there's a local one called Baba Ghannouj that's good stuff, as well as Cosmic Cantina. National Chains? Most places will make you a salad pretty easily, but most national chains don't really care enough to be super sensitive to vegans, since we're not big money makers. I usually try to find a Whole Foods/Earth Fare or even regular supermarket. Seriously.
My kitchen needs a………
Food Processor. *sigh*
This vegetable is not allowed in my kitchen…..!
I don't bar veggies from the kitchen, but I like to make sure people know what they're doing before they bust out something like...okra. I also hate ALL orange vegetables. All of them.
What's for dinner tonight?
Probably Amy's Un-Chicken Noodle, then some Miso Soup with brussels sprouts. I was gonna stop and get tofu but I am too tired. =(
Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Vegan Meme
Stole it from Leave it to Cleaver
1. Name a song that involves food in some way.
Evil Weiner - Flying Candybar
2. What criteria do you use when choosing a new cookbook to buy?
Did Isa Chandra write it? Is it a restaurant cookbook of a restaurant I like? Is it a blogger's cookbook from a blog I want recipes from?
3. What did you eat today?
So far, a light life bologna & heirloom tomato sandwich.
4. Name a vegan food that you know exists but you have never tried.
Faux shrimp.
5. The Food Network just called and needs you to start your new show tomorrow. What will the title of the show be?
Beer is Vegan. Seriously, I was floored to get this blog name.
6. Favorite hot sauce or other spicy condiment?
Coconut chutney. Close second goes to wasabi.
7. How old were you when you became vegetarian/vegan?
Vegetarian was about 13. Vegan was about 8 months later.
8. Favorite vegan cheeze?
I like them all for different things.Road's end organic for ez mac. Follow your heart Monterrey jack and Veganrella cheddar mixed together for a velveeta cheese sauce. Teese for anything involving mozzarella. Tofutti cream cheese. Tofutti slices for grilled cheese. Parma for a slight flavor.
9. Cutest baby animal?
puuuupppiiiieeeez
10. Favorite type of jam/jelly/marmalade/preserves?
raspberry for everything except PB&J. grape for a traditional PB&J.11. Do you take any vitamins/supplements?
sometimes I toss some hemp protein, soy protein or flax seeds into "mushy" food. occasionally I'll down a b12 pill. even less frequently I'll swallow an acidophillus pill.
12. What food/dish most embodies the Fall season?
apples and apples and a few more apples
13. What food would you have a hard time living without?
soup
14. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
tea
15. It’s 10PM and you’re starving. What do you eat?
If I'm out, I'm hitting cosmic. If I'm in, soup. And maybe a cupcake.
16. If you have an animal companion, what is his/her favorite food?
they like pretty much everything.
17. Worst injury you’ve gotten in the kitchen?
cut through my nail and nail bed.
18. When you have a food-related question, who do you call?
teh internets. =(
19. Summer is ending- What food will you miss most?
all of it. but especially cantaloupe, cherry tomatoes, heirloom tomatoes and zucchini.
20. What snacks do you keep in your purse/backpack/desk at work?
soup, pistachios
21. Favorite soup to make on a rainy day?
spicy tomato vegetable
22. What’s your favorite combination of fresh vegetable and/or fruit juices?
apple celery
23. Favorite brand of root beer?
I don't really differentiate between them.24. Make up your own question!
Favorite vegan dessert?
Right now I am jonesing so hard for a piece of strawberry shortcake from vegan treats. like whoa.